Azerbaijan is progressing in a democratic way

16-05-2011 | 19:00        


Azerbaijan is progressing in a democratic way. Speakers and MPs attending the session of the Council of the CIS Interparliamentary Assembly taking place in Saint-Petersburg unanimously appreciated the last parliamentary elections held in Azerbaijan.  The Azerbaijani and Moldovan parliaments, results of presidential elections in Belarus and Kazakhstan, international and national election systems, documents of international conferences on road safety have been discussed during the session of the Council of the CIS Interparliamentary Assembly taking place in Saint-Petersburg also attended by the Azerbaijani delegation led by Milli Mejlis Speaker Ogtay Asadov. High level organization of the parliamentary elections in Azerbaijan in November 2011 was underlined. All procedures were held transparently in accordance with democratic and international standards. Parliamentarians congratulated Azerbaijan with the achievements gained through democratic development. The organization’s activity in 2010 was assessed and the work plan for 2011 was also approved at the session. During the 36th plenary session, MPs discussed legal documents in the fields of education and science, responsibilities of participants in education process in member countries, legal supply of education improvement system as well as issues regarding innovative infrastructure. They also discussed model draft laws on “Primary and Vocational Education”, “Distant Education”, “Strategic Environmental Assessment” and “Fundamentals of Regulation of Internet” as well as model rules in fishing industry sector. Proposals on designing model draft laws to make legislations of member countries closer in 2011-2015 were considered. As part of the session, commissions of the organization on political issues and international cooperation, agrarian policy, natural resources and ecology as well as social policy and human rights held meetings and Milli Mejlis Speaker Ogtay Asadov met with Speakers of Kirgizstan, Moldova, Ukraine and Russia and with Chairman of the Assembly Sergey Mironov.